Youtube error "Your browser can't play this video"

Now browsing youtube, this is what I get.

I have installed all the components mentionned in the manual.

I have tried to clean the gstreamer cache and restarted nyxt.

Same result.

Any idea what to check? Maybe a hook to change the user agent to something “newer” ?

You need gstreamer-libraries for video playback, the manual lists the needed libs under “Troubleshooting” (run “manual” with ctrl-space (default) or alt-x (emacs) or : (vi-bindings))

Missed the part where you wrote “tried to clean the gstreamer cache”. But are you sure you have installed all the gst-plugins? Some youtube-videos might use the h264/x264-codec

1 Like

Hi,

The Nyxt project has a bug report template. Not sure if what are you facing is a bug. But I think some of the information asked by the bug report template could make it easier for me to help you. I am not an expert on Nyxt, though. I am just trying to help :slight_smile:

If you think this could be valuable to solve your problem, please provide the following:

Information

• OS name+version:

• Graphics card and driver:

• Desktop environment / Window manager name+version:

• How you installed Nyxt (Guix pack, package manager, build from source):

• Information from command copy-system-information:

If you can’t run copy-system-information, try nyxt --system-information from
    a shell. It this still does not work, please provide the following:

• Nyxt version (from =M-x nyxt-version= or =nyxt --version=):
    • Lisp implementation/version (if built from source):
    • Kernel name+version:
    • WebKitGTK+ | QtWebEngine version:

Output when started from a shell

Another good test would be installing the Ephiphany Web Browser and seeing if youtube works in your environment keeping everything else constant. That’s a way of making clear if the problem is on Nyxt or something else.

1 Like

I have installed all I could find in the packages availables.