Where is the download directory specified?

Hi,

I’m quite new to Lisp and I’m currently stuck on trying to understand a bit of code and I would appreciate it if anyone could help in my understanding.

So from what I can gather, in data-storage.lisp there is a function called xdg-download-dir and this is the function that specifies the download destination and the directory is gotten from (setf dir (str:concat (uiop:getenv "HOME") "/Downloads/")))

But when I change the directory to, for example, just the /Pictures/ directory the downloads keep going back to my /Downloads/ directory. I can’t seem to choose where the download destination is.

I’m currently working on a feature on Nyxt where the user can select which directory they want to download files to (issue #1523 on GitHub) hence why I’m doing this. I was trying to understand how download destinations work when I stumbled onto this problem. Can anyone please help point me in the right direction to understanding this code better? Thank you.

If you change that dir, and then make a new instance, does it change then? You have to be careful because changing the definition of something doesn’t change an instance. Try making a new buffer and then downloading, or a new instance of the *browser*.

It worked! Thank you. I made a new buffer and then downloaded something and it went to the destination I specified.

So correct me if I’m wrong my understanding is that when I change the destination dir it doesn’t change the existing instance. So if the existing instance has /Downloads/ as its dir then it won’t change even if I changed the dir to something else (like /Documents/ for example).

That change will only be applied when I make a new instance. In this case, by creating a new buffer and then downloading. Is that right?

You are 100% correct!

1 Like