Explanation of the various functions

So I’ve been looking through the various describe-X functions to try and get an idea of how things are set up. However I’m finding myself very lost by the sheer amount of information. I also don’t know many of the terms, like what a slot is.

Is there a glossary of terms somewhere, and a categorization of what/where various functions are relevant?

There are thousands of functions, slots, etc and I don’t have any idea how to navigate any of it. I’m not a programmer so that may be why I’m struggling. I can just barely hack together the odd thing I’m trying to do.

Indeed, we’re quite code-oriented here. A quick glossary is:

• Class is a template for entities we use. You open a buffer/tab – and it’s constructed based on the class that we defined. To see what this buffer template is, use C-SPC describe-class RET buffer RET.

• Slot is a small piece of data belonging to a class. So, if a class is a template, slot is a separate part of this template. For example, every buffer has a url – a link to the currently opened page. Do C-SPC describe-slot RET url RET – and you’ll learn a bit more about what this particular piece of data adds to the template.

• Functions (as in describe-function) are pieces of code that you can call by name. Those are not necessarily something you encounter directly when using Nyxt, but those are a valuable concept to understand…